Political Power and God

For there is no authority except from God, and the authorities that exist are appointed by God. Romans 13:1

If you’re a Christian, read that verse again out loud.

Now, if all authorities that exist are appointed by God, should republicans, teapartiers, and evangelicals who embrace conservative Christian values oppose Obama and the democratic party as strongly as they do?

Should a “God fearing” speaker of the house draw a line in the sand that says “We won’t work with this person”?

Should Tea Partiers condemn and tear apart every speech and action of any and every democratic elected official?

Does God not look on the Just and the Unjust the same?

Who but God can say who is Just and Unjust? 

I write this on a day when Gov. Rick Perry of Texas prepares to hold a prayer rally for the nation in Houston.  The action in itself is harmless as I think more people should take time to reflect, meditate, or pray on their actions.  However, the political ramifications have stirred up the nation.  Some question his motives.  Others question whether it’s blurring the line of government and a state religion.  I’m a middle of the road person when it comes to politics, so frankly I don’t care.  What I do care about is intolerance.  Intolerance by any individual who believes that their political stance is 100% accurate and has no fault in any of the problems of the nation.  When religion is added as a vindication that’s when I get involved.  There are very few things in this life that you can be 100% certain of and any time you set yourself up as the final authority on something you open yourself up to criticism.  That is where we have come as a country.  And I’m tired of people who are not willing to humbly take responsibility for their actions (or in this case the actions of their political party).

In the sermon on the mount Jesus outlines the individuals who will “inherit the kingdom”.  Among them are the meek, merciful, pure in heart, and peacemakers.  None of these qualities I’m seeing exhibited by any religious person involved in politics.  Sadly it almost seems opposite.  The new sermon’s being preached are “Blessed are the proud, intolerant, motivated, and willing to protest for theirs is the United States of America”.

When you confront someone about this, they immediately respond with excuses or arguments why it doesn’t apply to them.  They are “Standing up to immorality”.  The response is never humble.  I always thought humility was a quality Jesus promoted and valued beyond argumentative politically motivated individuals.  It even affects our churches.  I’ve known many pastors run out of their churches by people who felt that the pastor just “wasn’t doing what he was told”.  One pastor I know grew a church from 65 to 350 in three years.  On his last day the head elder said “we don’t want you to leave, we just want you to do what we tell you”.  That church today has 25 in attendance.

Now this doesn’t mean I think that Christians and republicans should just roll over.  Our society and government are not set up for that.  But when Christians come out and tear down a President for fiscal policy, economics, military, etc. (all of the non-religious decisions he must make), that is insulting someone whom the Bible says was appointed by God.  So many people have come to thumping their Bibles and parading around telling other people how wrong they are, while ignoring other parts that would apply to them.

And don’t think this lets democrats off the hook.  I know many good, christian people who are liberal democrats in their political ideals.  And their vitriol for the other side of the political spectrum is equally strong.  The only difference is that the entire republican conservative party has defined itself as predominantly Christian, so it makes it easier to write off hate filled comments to those “Godless, liberal, Atheist, Homosexuals”.

So what definition do you want people to know you by first?

Are you Republican? Or Democrat? Or Tea Party?

Or are you Christian first?

About Ben Moushon

Connections Director at The Underground. I love to write and connect with people about their stories and opinions about life, God, culture, and the world. It's about the journey and the conversations that occur along the way. View all posts by Ben Moushon

3 responses to “Political Power and God

  • Alesia

    I would say that I am a progressive Christian who has up until the last several years always voted green party. I have been forced to vote democrat because the alternatives were far more dangerous than making a statement by voting green. For me, it’s all about the war machine and who is sending our young men and women, sons, fathers, daughters, mothers, etc. off to die for corporate purposes. I was the first one screaming “foul play” when Obama authorized our military to start bombing Libya (and authorizing drone attacks over Yemen, which most people don’t even know about). I don’t stand by and protect him just because he is a democrat. He made a promise to bring our troops home when he was running for President, and that still hasn’t happened.

    All of this financial stuff is just politics. The Republicans want to play this game with all of our futures just to make sure that Obama is not re elected again because they have nothing else to stand on. I personally think the key players involved are cock roaches. I am not calling all Republicans names because I don’t want to start some useless dialogue with people who defend the actions of the ones they voted into office. Everyone can blame Obama, but they need to do some research about what happened 30 years ago when Reagan was the President. That was the beginning of the end for the middle class. Slash the taxes for the super rich and eliminate the the American dream for the rest of us by turning us into the working class. Now mom’s (like myself) spend 12 hours a day away from home while our husband’s also work full time just to make ends meet. They stole the dream that Roosevelt was building.

    Anyway, don’t get me started. Back to your point. You are 100% correct. Only God is in control. I am totally guilty of getting emotionally involved and standing up and fighting for what I think is right. When these people in office, democrat or republican want to send off my kids to die for corporate greed, and oil, I am going to come out swinging. I know that the Bush family was in bed with the Bin Laden family years before 9/11 happened and it makes me enraged that people don’t do research and just don’t get it. The very people that vote these republicans into office (such as many in the south and the red states) are the ones who need help the most, but don’t understand that they are voting against everything they need, such as health care and tax breaks.

    And don’t even get me started on Christian conservatives. To use God as a reason to vote Republicans into office is crazy!! They vote against “murder” such as abortion, but the very same people send our kids off to die in foreign countries all for interests that go against what we need most.

    This is an interesting story. I work for a dress company and in certain parts of New York, they are predominantly Jewish. They need their skirts to be a couple of inches longer than the rest of the country because they must go below the knees. I just had a store request to return some skirts because they are in a religious area and would have never ordered these skirts they had if they knew that they would not cover the knee. I did some research and they had received the skirts months prior, and also sold half of them. Now they are going to write to me and bring religion into the mix? I understand their situation, but they sold half of the skirts and then want to bring God into it in order to return what they had not sold. I thought that was so annoying. Just be up front, and say you didn’t sell these skirts and want to trade for something else.

    God is ultimately in control, and I find myself so frustrated with him at times for the atrocities that he allows. But I know, in the end He is going to make all things right.

    I appreciate you blogs Ben, and they always provoke me to think. That means you are doing something right. Keep up the good work!! I don’t go to church all the time, even though my husband is a pastor. When I do go, I am just trying to make sure my kids are in line so they don’t interrupt their dad while he is preaching or trying to work. I don’t get to hear sermons often and I have no time to read when I am at home, so just know, that you are reaching me through your words and I’m grateful for the time and energy you are putting into this form of ministry! And I PROMISE next time you are in a race, I will sponsor you!!! I will make a donation to World Vision in your name either way!!

    Have a great day friend!!

    • Todd

      God did not elect president Obama. Money elected president Obama. I got called 3 times on election day asking if I needed a ride to the poll.

  • Erike

    I would say ‘Im a Constitutional theologian’
    ‘i don’t preach i simply practice and exercise
    i have rights and responsibilities
    i have privledges and obligations

    its in my best intrest to unite with the like minded and elect a suitable representitive.

    this nation has ORDER and what role God has with “Leaders or the envioronment” is not for me to say.

    Once upon a time God was nation building…. from Hebrews to the Jews and even to what Israel has evolved into today

    “”Do not defile yourselves in any of these things. For in all these the nations are defiled, which I cast out before you.
    Lev 18:25 And the land is defiled. Therefore I visit its wickedness on it, and the land itself vomits out those who live in it.
    Lev 18:26 You shall therefore keep My statutes and My judgments, and shall not commit any of these abominations, neither the native, nor any stranger that lives among you.””

    this spiritualism is not far from us

Leave a Reply

